The World's Financial Modeling Certifications

The Financial Modeling Certifications are an internationally recognized credential for advanced Microsoft Excel, financial analysis and financial modeling skills. The FMI offers three levels of certification, gradually increasing in difficulty as candidates obtain each subsequent level: Advanced Financial Modeler (AFM); Chartered Financial Modeler (CFM); and Master Financial Modeler (MFM). Each level is recognized as it’s own qualification.

Level 1
Advanced Financial Modeler (AFM)
Level 2
Chartered Financial Modeler (CFM)
Level 3
Master Financial Modeler (MFM)

The exams focus on real-world applications of financial modeling excellence without the prerequisite of industry work experience. Earning each certification is the gateway to becoming a practitioner of the FMI, a global network of advanced Microsoft Excel, financial analysis and financial modeling leaders who have demonstrated competency in real-world and applied financial modeling. Certification is ideal for all finance, accounting, investment, insurance, equities and business professionals.

How It Works


FMI holds exams in April and October each year. Register Now >>

Exam Locations & Fees

FMI offers exams in over 32 cities worldwide. See locations & fees >>

4-Hour Exams

Each FMI Exam is 4-hours. FMI levels must be passed sequentially.

Learning Materials

Find resources to prepare for your exam. Visit Learning Materials >>

Annual Dues

Learn more about FMI Annual Dues >>

No Work Experience

There are no prior work experience requirements to undertake an FMI certification.

Three Certifications